Sinead Luke Wins All Ireland Scholarship to Gormanstown Summer School, Rachel O’Connor Nominated for Best Actress

          Congratulations to Sinead Luke on winning an All Ireland Scholarship to Gormanstown, and to Rachel O’Connor on receiving the nomination for Best Actress!!! Congratulations to Corn Mill Theatre Group on winning First Place in the All Ireland with ‘The Devil’s Ceili’, and for those of you who missed it the first time you can see the award winning show in the Abbey Theatre as they also won the Abbey Theatre Award, another fantastic and well-deserved honour. Second Place: Bradan, ‘Who ‘s Afraid of Virginia Woolfe?’ Third Place: Prosperous, ‘Boeing Boeing’ Full list of Awards: RTÉ All Ireland Drama Festival Perpetual Trophy  Corn Mill Theatre Group Miniature Festival Trophy For Best Director  Ronan Ward – Corn Mill Theatre Group…

All Ireland Awards Ceremony

Best wishes to Ballyshannon Drama Society, sitting with fingers crossed in the All Ireland Awards Ceremony in the Radisson Hotel, Athlone.>

Ballyshannon Shatter Myth in Athlone

Report on Dr. Russell Boyce’s adjudication taken from There’s a myth that Neil Simon’s plays don’t work on this side of the Atlantic. But All Ireland Drama Festival adjudicator Russell Boyce said it was nice to see how Ballyshannon Drama Society’s production of “The Gingerbread Lady” shattered that myth. He so much loved the detailed set constructed by the Ballyshannon crew that he asked the audience to think especially of those who had spent the winter months building the stage with its fireplace and recessed window, and sourcing furniture and props, including the piano and radiogram (which he told the younger members of the audience was the 1970s equivalent of the MP3 player).  It’s quite a while since he…