Rachel wins Best Supporting Actress in Athlone

Congratulations to Rachel O’Connor on winning the Best Actress in a Supporting Role award for her portrayal of Claire in ‘A Delicate Balance’, in the finals of the All Ireland Drama Festival!! The awards for the festival were presented at a Gala Awards Ceremony in the Radisson Athlone, on Saturday night. Before announcing the winner of the award, Adjudicator Paula Dempsey commented, “She owned the stage from the moment she stepped on it”.

Rachel O’Connor receiving the award for Best Actress in a Supporting Role for her portrayal of Claire in ‘A Delicate Balance’, at the All Ireland Drama Finals Gala Awards Ceremony held in the Radisson, Athlone, on Saturday May 6th, 2023.

‘A Delicate Balance’ also received nominations for Stage Management – well done Linda Gallagher, Mary Duggan and Karen Skelly, and Best Stage Setting – congrats Sean O’Connor!

Members of the ‘A Delicate Balance’ cast and crew in their finery at the All Ireland Drama Finals Gala Awards Ceremony held in the Radisson, Athlone, on Saturday May 6th, 2023.

Congratulations to the overall winners, Dalkey Players with their production of ‘By the Bog of Cats’. You can see the full list of awards along with photos from the Gala Awards Ceremony here: https://www.dramafestival.ie/gala-awards-2023/

Awards Ceremony & Hall of Fame at the 70th Ballyshannon Drama Festival

Congratulations to Damien Gallagher on being inducted into the Ballyshannon Drama Society Hall of Fame as part of the 70th Ballyshannon Drama Festival!

‘Darkness Echoing’, presented by Butt Drama Circle had a memorable night at Ballyshannon Drama Festival as they won a host of awards, including the Blue Riband – their first win on this year’s circuit.
Ray Leonard Players, with their production of ‘The Kings of the Kilburn High Road’ won the Confined section.

Results as follows:
Billy Myles Audience Award – Butt Drama Circle;
Best Set – Butt Drama Circle;
Best Stage Manager: Brenda Duffy, Butt Drama Circle;
Lighting – Butt Drama Circle;
Adjudicator’s Awards (x3) – Aoibheann Diver (Lifford Players); Bernie O’Brien (Pomeroy Players; Prosperous Dramatic Society (for the violent ending scene in their play).
Phil McLoone Award for outstanding achievement by a young person – Deirdre Ferguson (Ballyshannon Dramatic Society);
Best Actor Confined – Robert Holden as Jap in Kings of the Kilburn High Road;
Best Actress Confined – Mary Conlan – Netownstewart Drama Group;
Best Producer Confined (Hugh and Mary Daly Cup) – Anne Fahey – Ray Leonard Players;
Third Place Confined – Pomeroy Players;
Second Place Confined (Catherine Breslin Award) – Newtownstewart Drama Group;
First Place Confined – (Commercial Hotel Cup) – Kings of the Kilburn High Road;
Best Actor Open ((HJ Travers Award) J.C. Bonar (Butt Drama Circle);
Best Actress Open (Eoin Carney Award) – Ashley O’Neill, Prosperous;
Best Producer Open (John Stephens Cup) – Sean Byrne, Butt Drama Circle
Third Place Open (Jim Flynn Award) – Ballyshannon Drama Society;
Second Place Open (CJ King Award) Prosperous Dramatic Society;
Winner Open Section – Maureen Gallagher Award) – Butt Drama Circle;
Patsy Croal Blue Riband – Butt Drama Circle.

‘Oleanna’ – Prosperous (March 17th ’23, Open)

On Friday night at the drama festival, Prosperous Dramatic returned to the Abbey stage with their production of ‘Oleanna’ by David Mamet, in the Open section (photos: John Fallon).

‘Darkness Echoing’ – Butt Drama Circle (March 15th ’23)

Butt Drama Circle, Ballybofey, presented a new work by their resident playwright/director/actor Shaun Byrne, “Darkness Echoing”, on Wednesday March 15th in the 2023 Ballyshannon Drama Festival (photos: John Fallon).

‘Midden’ – Newtownstewart Drama (Tues. March 14th, Confined)

On Tuesday March 14th, Newtownstewart Drama Society returned to Ballyshannon with their production of ‘Midden’ by Morna Regan, the second show in the Confined section (photos: John Fallon).

Newtownstewart DramaMiddenMorna Regan